Social Video Marketing (see my assignment video!)

I’m so excited to share my assignment video with you guys. It took 5 hours of videoing with my friend Alexia (see her blog here) and we enjoyed every minute of it. Then I spent around 10-15 hours of putting the video and music together. Sounds like way too many hours, but trust me editing videos takes a LONG TIME. How long did it take for your assignment?

1432835_70723908

Freeimages

I used the free Movie Maker program because I can’t afford any other video editing program. Do you now any free ones I can download? It was heaps of fun coming up with the story line, shooting, re-shooting and trying a new concept to see what worked best. It happened to be a perfectly sunny day as well. What luck we had!

I recommend to all future marketers that you should learn some basic video editing. I taught myself from when I was in year eight just playing around with videos. I just find it so fascinating to see how you actually move and act through a video. Everyone else but you normally sees that.

So what is social video marketing? It’s a type of IMC used to create social hype around a video by encouraging shares, comments, communication, likes and even response videos. It differs from viral marketing which main aim is for views view views!

1327383_64930133

Freeimages

The psychology behind sharing a video you love is the arousal or emotion it initiates. YouΒ get a personal reaction from the video so are more likely to want to share the video with others to form a sort of community. Some highly aroused emotions are fear, anger and amusement – so creating these types of emotional videos may encourage more shares. What emotion did my video elicit at the start?

If you want to practice some social video marketing, here’s some ideas to start:

1. Create a How To video – How to bake lactose free cookies, how to train your dog to sit… etc.

2. Gaming video – record your voice while playing a game

3. Video event – while at an event, video it and edit it into some footage later.

4. Interview – interview your friends about something

5. Parody – create a music parody

What’s some more vlogging ideas? Link me to your marketing assignment videos too! Also what did you think of our video?

15 thoughts on “Social Video Marketing (see my assignment video!)

  1. Great video! All your efforts pay off, I haven’t really been exposed to many vloggs or hype videos apart from snapchat? Not sure if that counts! But I know all the Coachella and Tomorrowland live videos on snapchat really do get me hyped up. Great post enjoyed reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ I’ll have to look into those live videos on snapchat you mentioned, I don’t think I’ve seen them. There’s a bunch of blogs on YouTube. I don’t usually watch them though, depends on the Youtuber πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. great video, this is very impressive and as i said in my blog, the future trends for marketing are all about mobile, and video, or even live stream like meerkat, i do watch youtube a lot, and it is so effective and efficient to promote with good youtuber . anyway great effort

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

