How NOT to Sell on Facebook (Rant Post!)

This morning I came across a Facebook ad that said ‘How to create a 60 second blog content plan’ with a sign up button. Obviously I signed up, I want that! Who wouldn’t want to know? When I got to the sign up page and added my email address it said ‘watch this video before reading your 60 second blog content plan’ so I did.

(c) WowTowel

It was an 8 minute long video trying to sell to me how to write amazing blogs.Β Yeah it seemed useful and ‘was only $7’ but all I could think was ‘I got no value from this video.’ I say give value THEN ask for business in the blogosphere.

I wasted 8 minutes of my time and didn’t learn anything. I just learn that this marketer supposedly has knowledge in blogging and wants to sell me his stuff.

I go check my email to get my 60 second content plan, but no, it’s not there. First thing I receive is a ‘thank you for subscribing’ and how I’m going to be emailed all his content bi-weekly. 15-20 minutes later I finally receive the 60 second blog plan. It’s a great plan I have to say, but his execution process from Facebook to the landing page to my email was so shaky.

I felt more annoyed than satisfied.

The thing that annoyed me the most was the video. Why should I pay $7 when I haven’t been given any value yet? Hundreds of marketing companies give FREE valuable content daily through their blogs. If you want to know a really great resource for digital marketing content and tips I recommend Social Media Examiner.

So theΒ first time I stumble upon your page you try and TAKE value from me? Seems unfair because nowadays you need to give people free content FIRST so they trust you.

(c) CoSchedule

As you can see from the image above first you must build your network. You do this by communicating with others, sharing blog content, commenting on other blogs. Also you should find out about your potential audience. You can do this using Facebook formulas and I talk about Facebook formulas here.

Next you prove you’re an expert. This is done by giving away stuff for FREE! Create a series, give away some tips – show you know what you’re talking about.

People need to know why you’re different from the competition, make it clear to yourself and others.

Lastly create doorway content. I think what they mean is to create little snippets of content that links to other content in a series so your followers can’t stop clicking on your links!

What can we take away from this?

1. Don’t sell to a follower on the landing page if you’re giving them free content! Let them sign up and get their free goodies and then later down the track once they trust you, they may become a customer. You look money hungry otherwise.

2. Don’t give too many call to actions. Humans can only process so much information, if you give us too many CTAs we’re going to exit out because we don’t have that much time in the day! Make it easy for us πŸ™‚

3. Don’t have the free content come AFTER the first email. What’s best is the free content and the ‘thank you for subscribing’ is in the SAME email. I didn’t sign up to subscribe to your content, I know that’s a by-product of getting something for free, but don’t make it obvious. I’m here for what I signed up for – the content plan.

Have you ever come across an annoying sign up process for a blog or free content? Has a brand ever tried hard-selling to you in inappropriate places?

18 thoughts on “How NOT to Sell on Facebook (Rant Post!)

  1. I can’t recall a specific time when a brand has tried hard selling in an inappropriate place but it definitely would turn me off the brand. It makes them seem less genuine and gives off a negative image!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post Meags! I wish more business would take note of your suggested guidelines, Facebook is deceptively complex and very hard for businesses to master. Poor management of your brand and FB online can cause a lot of negative feelings and damage credibility. Some food for thought for businesses! Check out my latest post on cause related marketing when you get a chance πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment Julia, much appreciated, I’ve made a comment on your blog too, loved it! πŸ™‚ Facebook is definitely confusing for small businesses that don’t have the expertise. I’ve started doing training videos about social media platforms and I can tell you, they’re very useful to use (compared to University -.-) haha

      Like

  3. Couldn’t agree more with your points ! Especially when you said that you shouldn’t sell first to your followers and get them to trust you first. They should have followed like Pepsi’s latest strategy on their newest drink in melbourne central where they gave free drinks to get customers opinion. Would appreciate it if you could check out my latest post about Twitter. Cheers πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t know Pepsi did that. That’s great marketing πŸ™‚ Now I wish I got a free drink and feel really thirsty now haha. Thanks so much for commenting, I’ll check out your blog after some sleep :P.

      Like

  4. Great post! I totally agree, especially given the wealth of information available to us online – the ploy this takes you on just isn’t worthwhile. The value it offers is really accessible for much less inconvenience! Great tips, also πŸ™‚ Have a look at my latest post if you like and please let me know what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! There’s so much free content out there, why should I buy from a stranger I don’t trust yet? Businesses need that drilled into their heads πŸ˜› Thanks for commenting, I’ll also comment on your blog soon after some shut-eye. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. i think people love free stuff for sure, but they hate being annoyed, these companies don’t understand consumer behavior, that they did the wrong thing, force people to buy something that they never tried before, i mean at least give them a trial, and they also keep on sending e-mail that is not giving value to consumer, and it is so annoying, they so-called it is “free”, but in fact you need to pay for nearly everything inside, the free functions are useless. It is a great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting takinlau! (Is that your first name, I’m not sure? :)) I agree, companies are quite ignorant. It’s funny that the company this morning is called ‘digital marketer’ on Facebook – I feel that if you’re a marketer, you should know! But maybe us Uni students are smarter than we think πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I think after falling to many times into similar business loops like your blog content plan one, I have zero trust for other offers that are on inapprioate platforms. More often than not I find myself scrolling past these business offers especially when they are on Facebook, due to them all having a similar selling plan. I totally agree with your guidelines, especially on minimising continuous calls for action. I find that if I’m over bombarded with CTAs, I will quickly unsubscribe or exit the service and I leave with pretty negative feelings towards the business.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same here! Although there’s some ads I do like because they’re targeted really specifically. You can target people on Facebook who’ve visited your website for example. Those ads I do like because they’re exactly what I want. Well sometimes haha

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I think brands seriously need to maintain a balance between maximising sales and not coming across as greedy and annoying. It’s experiences like you’ve had which gives marketing a bad name!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I usually don’t sign up for any of these things because they always seem to so dodgy. The only thing I can imagine myself getting from these types of things are an email inbox full of spam and that’s about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I know what you mean. I’ve never been spammed by these things I’ve signed up to. It’s just some aren’t very good at what they do haha. You must’ve been at the seminar where we talked about spam. ^^

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

