How to Increase Your Twitter Followers

While working for Study My Way, I’ve tried to find ways to increase their Twitter following. They provide a University course search and useful information about studying and University life. Naturally, their target audience is University students.

I’ve found a great way to increase your Twitter following so you can get retweeted, followed and favourited every day!

What do you have to do?

Instead of simply posting Tweets each day, you need to have a conversation with your audience. Basically, you have to find them!

How do you do it?

To do that, you have to consider what they might be tweeting about that relates to your business. In my case, I found that students use the hashtag #study #procrastination and #motivation a lot. I also found people tweeting about their future career paths, such as, ‘I can’t wait to be a #nurse‘.

I search for those tags and reply to the people saying, ‘You can do it!’ or ‘Here this might help you’ (and send them to an article on our website). Naturally, people get excited when a company talks to them! They retweet you and favourite your responses.

Then the followers start pouring in after that.

Let me know in the comments what company you’re helping and I can see if I can recommend some search terms.

How do you increase your Twitter following?

6 thoughts on “How to Increase Your Twitter Followers

  1. Interesting Post!

    I’ve found follow backs are a great way to maintain followers as it kinda creates a sense of mutual loyalty. In terms of increasing twitter followers: short and simple tweets that tend to be witty are always attractive to users. Going through Taco Bell’s replies on twitter are quite amusing and the same can be said for James Blunts’ replies. It’s totally a great way to procrastinate.

    Some other online sites let you use your twitter account to post comments, which helps with increasing awareness of who you are or who your business is which can again increase your followers or even twitter interaction and communication between other users.

    Like

    • Wow thanks for that suggestion about the online sites that allow twitter accounts, I’ll have to try and find some!
      Yes witty comments definitely seem to get viewed a lot. I’ll have to make another post about how you should make witty posts using the too trending hashtags too. 🙂 thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. Love this! This post is clear and straight to the point 🙂
    I’ve been on twitter for a week now, and the number of followers I have keep changing. I think you’ve solved my problem! I think it’s because I keep retweeting content instead of actually engaging and communicating with other people! It makes sense to start interacting with other people and sharing ideas. I now understand how valuable it is to actually initiate discussions and to respond to replies.

    With the hashtags.. Sometimes I add more specific hashtags such as #segmentation or #bigdata to focus on those who are interested in those topics.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you! I’m glad I could help you out 🙂 I didn’t really understand Twitter so I starting reading up on it and decided this little trick might work! Social media is all trial and error isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome post, I’ve not been very active on twitter, it feels a lil alien to me at times. Your technique seems quite interesting, and it’ll surely help my corporate handle @pitstopdigital, FIngers crossed! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was the same until about 2 weeks ago. I had no idea how to use Twitter, but with trial and error, what I posted has been working. Ohh do you work at Pot Stop Digital? I followed them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

